Heading into the countryside

For the past weeks my schedule has been, quite pleasantly, unwavering: wake, yoga, baguette, work, water, rice, work, dance, water. Excitement comes in the form of a new sauce for the local couscous made of ground Palm seeds, or a visit to the tailors to get a dress and jacket (bien sûr!) made from local fabrics. So, needless to say, I’m feeling relaxed, happy and at ease here. There is, inevitably, the occasional bump in the road when cultural worldviews collide and I have to explain how ‘we do things’ in Europe/ Canada. In hindsight, it is humorous to explain that I a) am not available for marriage to any and all men, b) do indeed like to and will work all 8 hours of my work day, c) cannot bring you, your rabbits, or your baby back to Europe/ Canada with me, d) do not need an electronic scale, bag of lemons, or a door mat, but thanks for offering none the less.

But, like everything here, this is all going to change, as I am heading into the ‘field’ for the next 3 weeks: myself and 4 colleagues are off to the markets! Overcoming, hopefully, the language (local ethnic and not French)  differences, we  will be taking surveys about project impacts and talking to property owners already on the sites. Already some interesting questions about informal property rights and eligibility have arose.

We’ll be in two regions of Burkina, one in the drier North, the other in the lush South, staying in the bigger towns but visiting a new market each day in villages of less than 5000 people.  Accommodation and food will be rather basic, but I’ve been assured by my colleagues that the regions are lovely and there is lots to see and discover.. I just hope there is enough time to be a bit of a tourist 🙂

More stories to come…

3 thoughts on “Heading into the countryside

  1. Interesting process Devon! I was talking to Gary Marshall my brother in law about your travels last night and since he and Anita his wife have spent years and years in Africa, he knew exactly where you are…. they have travelled through there.

    Lots of love to you and besides taking care, take lots of pics too.. they are terrific! Hope your explorations are successful and fun. :o)

  2. Are you learning any of the local patois? Try to get your co-workers to get a few pictures with you in them. My recollection of those modest villages from my Doula experience was there wasn’t much to see easily, but then you gain a different way of looking at it; contrasts, textures, people, colour of clothing, sky against ground. Much like the prairies, not much to see at first and then it comes…take care my dear…

  3. yes, you do love adventures followed by calm followed by adventures followed by yoga, water and work.

    I love that you love to see things done. that is a strong trait in our Carey genes.

    Notice how we are always fidgeting.

Leave a comment